add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Smart to plug CPU cooler fan into NZXT h400i fan controller vs mobo header?

LordChopps

17 months ago

Hi, I am new to building and don't want to make any big time mistakes.

I have chosen the cryorig h7 as my cpu cooler, but was planning to replace the stock fan with an NZXT aer rgb 120mm (I dont like the look of cryorig's quad lumi h7). This might be a bad idea all on its own, and if so please let me know, but because the aer rgb fans require connection to the hue+ I was wondering it would be alright to daisy chain it along with the other fans into the fan controller on the h400i.

Would the fan still run properly as the cpu heats up? or would plugging it into the cpu fan header be the safer option.

Thanks.

Comments

• 17 months ago
  • 3 points

Would the fan still run properly as the cpu heats up? or would plugging it into the cpu fan header be the safer option.

Fan on cpu cooler needs to be connected to cpu fan header...

I have chosen the cryorig h7 as my cpu cooler, but was planning to replace the stock fan with an NZXT aer rgb 120mm (I dont like the look of cryorig's quad lumi h7).

Buying the H7 plus the NZXT aer rgb (36+30) makes no sense as that will get you a much better air cooler.

• 17 months ago
  • 4 points

Not to mention the temperatures will be slightly worse with the Aer fan than the stock fans on the H7 Quad Lumi due to the lower pressure of the 120mm AER compared to the Cryorig stock fan (1.65 H20 vs 1.35 H20)

• 17 months ago
  • 2 points

Exactly!

• 17 months ago
  • 2 points