add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Have I been daft and ordered incompatible RAM for this MOBO

mysticjim

16 months ago

I'm new to PC speccing and building. I thought I'd be okay, but know I'm worried I may have messed up with my MOBO and RAM combination

I ordered ;

GIGABYTE GA-AB350-Gaming AMD Ryzen CPU AM4 Socket DDR4 PCIe Gen 3 USB 3.1 ATX Motherboard

and

Corsair CMK8GX4M1A2400C16 Vengeance LPX 8 GB (1 x 8 GB) DDR4 2400 MHz C16 XMP 2.0 High Performance Desktop Memory Module, Black

PCPartspicker didn't flag up a conflict, but after watching a few build tutorials on Youtube, it was recommended as standard to check on the MOBO manufacturers website for RAM compatibility. The above RAM is conspicuous by it's absence! I feel like a bit of a prat for just diving in and buying it. It's all scheduled to arrive over the next few days, so not sure what to do. Should I just test it out, just in case it works straight off, or is it not worth the risk, just send it back and get replacement RAM specifically off the compatible list? I know there is a chance it might just work, in which case, wonderful. It's unlikely that it would get fried if it's incompatible, right?

Any advice and/or reassurance welcome! :)

Jim

And sorry, just for full reference, here is the full spec;

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/mysticjim/saved/2GDJ8d

Comments

• 16 months ago
  • 1 point