add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Ryzen 2700k or wait for new Gen

Sohanon

1 month ago

I have majority of the parts I need to finish building my computer, except for the CPU and motherboard. I'm not too needy in needing the new CPU right away(I've been running integrated GPU for several months now, and don't really play anything.). However, I don't know if the new Generation of AMD CPU's are going to be a huge leap compared to the 2700k.

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

see what next gen offers

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

Do some research what the new motherboards for it will be like - i.e. X570 B550 etc. It could make sense to hold off for them given potential for compatibility with DDR5 etc... that alone would seal the deal. Ryzen 3000 will fall or rise by the chipset rather than CPU. Just a rehash of X470 or B450? No thanks, I will pass, you can keep the extra cores.

You cannot go wrong with the 2700X, the Ryzen 3000 is not going to be reinventing the wheel despite what people say, it will likely bump up 20%. This bump is enough for enthusiasts to dump their current rigs and spend $1000's. For the rest of us, that 20% will be treated for what it is worth - that being it is 20%. It is possible Ryzen 3000 offers a 100% or greater performance leap but I highly doubt that. The shrink in transistor dimensions does not translate to the same percentage gain. Physics does not work like that. 20% improvement is more likely where it is at, at least going core per core. If it is higher I would be shocked.

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point