add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Which 1T SSD M.2 is best to get

PavelMan

2 months ago

Hello,

I want to upgrade my storage, with a new SSD M.2. I currently already have one, that is 500GB, but I installed windows on it, plus bunch of other essential software, so there isn't much space on it at this point. I have 2 regular internal HDD's, which I use for storage. Thing is that I'm a video editor, and work on Premiere and After Effect, and I was wondering if I should get a 1T SSD M.2, to store files during the edit for a faster and smoother process.

So here are my questions: 1. I currently have a 500GB SSD M.2 from Samsung, and it works pretty well, should I get another Samsung, or other manufactures are better? 2. Is it even worth it to put video files on this type of an SSD, and will I get really better results, or should I invest in a better GPU instead? 3. Which one will be better: Samsung 970 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB PCIe M.2 2280 NVMe or Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 1TB 4. Should I simply get a regular and cheaper SSD instead of getting another M.2?

Thank you.

Comments

• 2 months ago
  • 2 points

PCPartPicker Part List

Type Item Price
Storage Sabrent Rocket 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive $109.98 @ Amazon
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total $109.98
Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-10-12 13:28 EDT-0400

This is super fast and not much more than the 660p.

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

Now the real question is does your motherboard support 2 NVMe SSDs? If not you might be able to get an inexpensive NVMe M.2 expansion card to drop in a PCIe slot.