add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

How do you dual-use HDD and SSD

Animepopcorn

1 month ago

So, I'm pretty new to this scene, and I've done some extensive research, but the one thing I can't seem to find is how people use both an SSD and a HDD together. So SSD is speedy, so you just install the OS on it then you use the HDD? Or interchangeably use them? Can you chose which of the two you save something to?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

So, I'm pretty new to this scene, and I've done some extensive research, but the one thing I can't seem to find is how people use both an SSD and a HDD together.

They're just storage, you just use them. The reason why there's nothing especially describing how to utilize them is there's nothing special to write.

So SSD is speedy, so you just install the OS on it then you use the HDD? Or interchangeably use them? Can you chose which of the two you save something to?

People have had systems with multiple HDDs for decades. Throwing a SSD into the equation doesn't really change anything, outside of the dramatic performance benefits of SSDs, which would encourage you to put things you want to benefit from that performance on the SSD for fairly obvious reasons. And misc data storage, backups or low priority software would go typically on the HDD. But even that is dependent on how small the SSD is. Large enough SSD, or enough SSD space would alleviate having to manage that too seriously as well.

Or you can just run a large enough SSD or multiple SSDs, which is what I do, because the performance of HDDs is so bad.