add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

"It started with a ~~kiss~~ storage upgrade, never thought it would come to this."

szjmryk

2 months ago

current build proposed build

Ahoy there!

I've been pulling apart hand-me-down machines and building "best of the parts bin" PC for a few years. So I have some hands-on experience, but my kit is pretty dated. Broadly speaking, I'm incrementally progressing towards a small/low power/quiet build (all 3 are equal priority).

The HDD seemed like an obvious and straightforward upgrade, so I did a little "best buy" research. Which is when I learned about NVMe and "went down the rabbit hole"... Sure an SSD is an improvement over a HDD but when the bottleneck is SATA itself, the upgrade becomes more of a "halfgrade".

But if I want NVMe, I'll need a new MoBo. And CPU. And cooler. And RAM. :0

Because of my low power ambitions, I'm sticking with the GTX1050Ti. And because of my low budget reality, I'll stick with my current PSU, at least in the short-term. And although I'll take the opportunity to move to mITX, I won't get a mITX case immediately.

Apart from that, everything is open to suggestions.

I've specced i5-6500, because I read somewhere that it's a good match for my GPU and reviews on here, say that (like my current i5-3570k) it's pretty much the best of that generation. One of the benefits of being such a long way behind the curve, is that hindsight is 20/20. ;)

And LGA1151 seems to coincide with the introduction of NVMe boards.