add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
ImThatDude

82 months ago

Hey guys, after months of contemplating I've decided to build my first pc. I'm going to use it for school, multimedia (mainly music, I'm a beginner audiophile) and gaming (mostly old games like KotOR I and II, Final Fantasy X, maybe Black Ops I and II and NBA 2K13/2K14, depending on the release of the PS4). I'm starting to think that the GPU may be too much and that I might have problems putting all this together considering I'm new at this. I'd like to hear some advice on this build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Wshu

Comments

• 82 months ago
  • 1 point

to start things off, i would highly recommend changing the memory [ram] to ddr3-1600 with any cas latency but cas 9 is much preferred

• 82 months ago
  • 1 point

i would change to a cheaper power supply [psu] that's reliable and modular or semi-modular. there's a lot of good psu's in that watt range for under $100
i think the gigabyte z77 ud3h motherboard will be good for you too and it's cheaper. the one you chose (the ud5h) is more expensive and the difference is minor. a feature that the ud5h has is better built-in audio than the ud3h i think. but that doesn't matter since you're an audiophile with a sound card
if you're going to get a ps4 then you don't need to spend extra on the optical drive for blu ray. just get the cheapest drive